Chronicles of Funkytoe

Read and add your own story about fungus. General observations

Chronicles of Funkytoe

Postby funkytoe » Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 pm

So I just realized I have toenail fungus. Pathetic, huh? I could have toenail fungus photos - would that be worse?
For a long time I thought I just kept bruising my toenails. (And I have a Master's degree.)
Anyway, I have fungus all the way back to the cuticle in one big toe and about one third of the other. I had black spots under both nails. The toenail where it is worse is almost completely detached. I plan to chronicle my experience in trying to get rid of it.

Day One: The Horrible Truth
Mentioned to my sister that I have black spots under my toenail. She immediately diagnosed me, sight unseen, reminding me that my late father had serious toenail fungus all his life. I was in serious denial.

Days Two- Four: Denial is the Fungus Amongus

Day Five: The Internet Confirmation
Started reading up on it and saw pics of garden-variety fungus. Scoured the Internet, scoured my bathtub with bleach, ran to Walgreen's and purchased every antifungal on the market.

Day Five: Later that Night
Started by scraping out all black gunk from under both toenails with a sterilized manicure scissors. Realized to my horror that on the one toe my nail was almost then completely detached. Was incredulous how I could be so fastidious with my hygiene and still be plagued with funkyfoot. Soaked my feet in bleach and water. meticulously dried feet with towel and hair dryer. Developed a theory: (remember, a little knowledge is a dangerous thing) if my toenails are detached, maybe my cure rate is more likely because the nail bed will not be hard to get to with the antifungal. Sprayed entire foot with Lotrimin AF, especially under toenails.. Should have taked photos - fungus photos, would it brake the camera? lol

Day Six: Tea Tree Oil